Cat day is more important than Pangolin day.

Don’t get me wrong right away. I love that there’s that day where people celebrate their love for their cats. That’s positive and I embrace everything that makes people happy without harming anyone else.

As someone who fights in order to reduce as much as possible the harm I inflict on others and on our planet, I can’t help feeling like yesterday was a very small step towards peace between animals, which would be the main goal of this kind of special days.

Today is Pangolin day and I’m sure this will be another of the many days that go by without people noticing it. Fortunately, pangolins are usually not a “domestic” animal, even though some people try to turn them into one. There’s no point in doing anything today. So you know I’m not judging you, I won’t do anything about it except writing this text.

Image result for pangolin

Two reasons why pangolins are in danger are people eating their meat and people using their scales. I didn’t even know about that until I found a post of WWF in my Facebook feed today.

I’m not writing this in order to alert you about pangolins, even though I’m glad I can do that. I’m writing this in order to alert you about the existence of other animals in the world besides cats, dogs and other “domestic” animals. There are also cows, pigs, monkeys, lions, sharks, tunas, bees, flies. There are so many I wouldn’t be able to write them all down even if I wanted to. I want you to think about that and I want you to think about if you want to do something about other animals besides the ones you closely live with.

Cats and dogs aren’t the only ones that have the ability to suffer.

Leave a Reply

